The IEEE NPS Italy Chapter is pleased to announce the first edition of the Best Ph.D. Thesis Award in memory of Emilio Gatti and Franco Manfredi. The award will be presented to distinguished young scientists who have completed a Ph.D. thesis in the field of Radiation Instrumentation for fundamental and applied research. The prize consists of 500 Euros and a certificate.

The prize consists of 500 Euros and a certificate.

Each year certificates will be also awarded to the two runners-up.

The event is free, but registration is required at the link: https://tinyurl.com/ya9aqcpb



Contacts: Chiara Guazzoni chiara.guazzoni@polimi.it +390223996147



Address: Politecnico di Milano - DEIB Building 24, Alpha Room Via Golgi 40, 20133 Milano (Italy)



Emilio Gatti and Franco Manfredi

Best Ph.D. Thesis Award in Radiation Instrumentation

> Award Ceremony Politecnico di Milano December 12th, 2017





December 12th, 2017 Politecnico di Milano, DEIB, Alpha Room Building 24, Via Golgi 40 Milano (Italy)

Agenda:

14:30 IEEE NPS Italy Chapter Chair Welcome Gian-Franco Dalla Betta Università degli Studi di Trento and INFN

14:45

"The current status and challenges of detection and imaging in particle therapy" Alberto Del Guerra - IEEE Distinguished Lecturer Università degli Studi di Pisa and INFN

15:45 *Coffee Break*

16:00 DEIB Head of Department Welcome Stefano Tubaro Politecnico di Milano

16:15 Award Ceremony

16:30

"Development and application of state-of-the-art device/circuit level TCAD simulation tools for the optimization of innovative Silicon-on-Diamond semiconductor devices" Arianna Morozzi - 2017 Awardee Università degli Studi di Perugia and INFN

16:50

"The legacy of Franco Manfredi and Emilio Gatti in Radiation Instrumentation" Lothar Strüder PNSensor GmbH, Munich and University of Siegen

18:00 Conclusions and Farewell



Alberto Del Guerra is Professor of Medical Physics at the University of Pisa, Italy. He has been retired for three years, but is still coordinating the FP7 funded European project "TRIMAGE: A dedicated trimodality (PET/MR/EEG) imaging tool for schizophrenia" and is still teaching Medical Physics at the Department of Physics.

Previous appointments were Professor of Medical Physics (University of Ferrara) and Professor of Physics (University of Napoli). He has been Visiting Scientist at LBL (Berkeley) and Visiting Professor at UW (Seattle).

He has been NSS chair (1999-Seattle), General Chair (2004-Roma) and MIC chair (2011-Valencia) of the IEEE Nuclear Science Symposium and Medical Imaging Conference. He has served on many NPSS committees and has been elected member of NPSS ADCOM (2011-2014). He is an IEEE Life Fellow. He has been President of the European Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics (EFOMP) and has served on various committees of Radiology (ECR) and Nuclear Medicine (EANM) European Associations. He has been Editor in chief of the journal Physica Medica-EJMP for 20 years (1988-2008). He is member of the CERN Medical Application International Scientific Committee (ISC). He is honorary member of EFOMP, honorary member of DGMP and honorary Editor of Physica Medica-EJMP. His main research interests are in medical imaging, especially Positron Emission Tomography, with almost 400 Papers in Refereed Journals.



Lothar Strüder is the Managing Director of PNSensor GmbH in Munich. He was the Head of the Semiconductor Laboratory of the Max Planck Institut in Munich since its foundation in 1992 till 2012 and since 2000 he was appointed Honorary Professor in Experimental Physics at the University of Siegen. Since 1990 he has been Co-Investigator or Principal Investigator of several challenging satellite missions among which we can recall XMM-Newton, ABRIXAS, eROSITA and IXO.

Recently he was PI of different detector developments for FEL sources (CAMP and DSSC). Lothar holds 18 worldwide patents in scientific instrumentation and is author of more than 470 refereed publications and more than 100 contributions to books and non-refereed publications. He received different award among which in 1999 the ESA award for the development of outstanding scientific X-ray imaging spectrometers and in 2000 the EPIC consortium award for outstanding contributions to the XMM focal plane instruments. In 1994 and 2014 he received the Macres Award of the American Society for Microanalysis for the most innovative instrument.